Jeff Buckley – You and I (2016)

Pop, Rock,Singer-Songwriter

Release Notes:

Long rumored to exist as the “Addabbo sessions”, but previously unheard outside the studio, these seminal recordings are a fan’s Holy Grail, a rare opportunity to hear Jeff Buckley in peak form, developing his artistry through a series of spellbinding solo performances, each one captured in pristine sonic detail.

Recently discovered in the Sony Music archives during the research for the 20th anniversary edition of Buckley’s Grace album, the performances on You and I are a revelation, an intimate portrait of the artist performing a variety of cover songs and original music expressing a range of emotion channeled through his singular sensibility.

The songs on You and I reveal, in part, the eclectic scope of Jeff Buckley’s extraordinary musical tastes and abilities. The covers on the album include Jeff’s highly personal interpretations of songs written by Bob Dylan (“Just Like a Woman”); Sylvester Stewart (“Everyday People,” recorded by Sly & the Family Stone); Joe Green (“Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin’,” recorded by Louis Jordan, Ray Charles and others); Bob Telson (“Calling You,” recorded by Jevetta Steele for the 1987 film Bagdad Café); Morrissey and Johnny Marr (“The Boy with the Thorn in His Side” and “I Know It’s Over,” recorded by the Smiths); Booker T. Washington “Bukka” White (“Poor Boy Long Way from Home,” from a 1939 “field” recording made by John Lomax) and John Paul Jones/Jimmy Page/Robert Plant (“Night Flight,” recorded by Led Zeppelin).

Rounding out You and I are two pieces of original music: the first-ever solo studio recording of his signature song, “Grace” and “Dream of You and I,” a mysterious and haunting piece which informs the deeply intimate and profoundly personal mood of the album.

These 10 tracks offer an incredible, rare glimpse of an artist, alone, in the sacred space that is the studio. There’s an intimacy and an honesty to the performances that’s literally breathtaking. You & I is an important addition to Jeff’s recorded legacy and will be a thrill for both his devoted longtime fans and newcomers alike.

Track List:

1. Just Like a Woman (6:28)
2. Everyday People (4:32)
3. Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin’ (4:02)
4. Grace (6:11)
5. Calling You (4:59)
6. Dream of You and I (4:30)
7. The Boy With the Thorn In His Side (3:34)
8. Poor Boy Long Way from Home (6:02)
9. Night Flight (4:54)
10. I Know It’s Over (7:02)

链接: 密码: ukts

  1. 因为你不记得具体只记得梗概然后自行脑补加工就变成第三视角了,所以很多人一起回忆当年会有分歧,第三视角只是因为你记得不够清楚而已…

  2. 有用和没用这是一种功利观,功利观不应该被用来评价文化遗产。传统手艺走向没落,具体原因有很多,但是宏观(马克思主义经济学)看来,是没法从手工工场向工业化转型,成为资本。资本的一大特征就是可以自我增值,自我增值的一大手段就是创造无穷多的需求,并满足这些需求,